The Island

wpid-img_20140704_195732.jpg

View of Alcatraz taken from the Bay Bridge

 

Heavy inversion layers

tamped down emotions

solitude of thought.

~~~

Days like these weigh on my soul

testing my psyche

in ways you can’t know.

~~~

Where does the self doubt come from?

Was it there since birth,

or learned behavior?

~~~

On an island in my mind,

watching the waves lap

and envelop me.

~~~

The sun tries hard to break free

 Focused beams puncture

through the mist and shine.

~~~

If only I can absorb

the sun’s loving rays

deeply in my heart

~~~

I can learn to love again.

The lessons of life

that guide me to peace.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The Island

  1. aishasoasis says:

    I like this alot, “on an island in my mind” if refering to alcatraz, I’ve definitely been there! Thanks for visiting my blog, too – greetings from egypt!

    • MaxxPayme says:

      The feeling of isolation I wrote about is one that I believe many of us feel from time to time. It felt good to put it into words and on paper and get it out of my soul.

      Thank you for reaching out to say hello and I hope you find the time to visit again.

      • aishasoasis says:

        Poetry is really awesome therapy, isnt it? We don’t need someone to ask us what’s bothering us, it just tumbles out onto the page some times, and it changes from bother to satisfaction when we get to put a period on the end of the sentence, if you know what I mean!
        God willing, I’ll be back again! ;^)

I love feedback and interaction, any thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 740 other followers

