Views From The Street – S.F Mission District

Lucha Libre

Mexican wrestling masks on display in the Mission.

One of the great joys of living in a major metropolitan city are the varieties and flavors that can be sampled just from hanging out in different neighborhoods. Where I live out by the beach, there are many great trails and views of natural beauty, flora and fauna that continually amaze me and make me thankful for the lovely city I call my home.

However, just a short Muni ride from my flat brings me to whole new worlds with unique energy and their own set of values that make them special. Yesterday I found myself in San Francisco’s Mission District getting my brakes worked on and needed to kill a few hours. Besides enjoying a great lunch at at a lovely neighborhood cafe I shot a few photos of some of the street art and scenes that surrounded me.

Hearts with wings

Hearts with wings

The Mission  is a vibrant and diverse neighborhood, but it’s history is firmly rooted in the Hispanic culture and street murals and street art abound that reflect those roots. It is amazing how many walls, buildings, parking lots and alley ways are lovingly painted. Worth noting is that these murals are never scarred by graffiti – there is honor on the street and graffiti artists respect the work of the muralists and vice versa.

Ave Maria

Ave Maria

Many of the murals have religious undertones and somehow that seems natural and right within this area. The Catholic church is a large part of the Mexican culture and so it makes sense that religion would figure prominently in these works.

wpid-2014-02-28_15-58-53_241.jpg

All of these photographs were taken within a four block radius and there were many more murals and examples of street art that I did not shoot or that came out even worse than these pictures. (my phone is old and the camera sucks. Looking to update very soon so expect an improvement in the photo quality on my pictures soon)

The area is absolutely teeming with great subject matter. Perhaps I will head back to the Mission District soon to see what else I can capture with my lens. For now, I hope that you enjoy this glimpse. Enjoy the weekend!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Views From The Street – S.F Mission District

  1. Enjoyable array. Nice captures. Great way to kill a few hours! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

I love feedback and interaction, any thoughts?

