Shadow and light

Shadow and light

Shadow and light

On a recent day this week that took me to the Union Square area of San Francisco I took some photos that interested me. Mostly of architecture since I am fascinated by the craftsmanship that was used in prior decades. It is somewhat of a sad testimony to witness what was once art melding with function whereas now buildings are rarely more than steel, glass and plastic.

Detail of a medical building in downtown San Francisco

Detail of a medical building in downtown San Francisco

The above photograph illustrates my point. This was taken outside of a medical building and as you can see an artisan created a statement of intent that functioned both as art and as a sort of advertisement of what could be found inside. Form and function.

They don't build them like this anymore.

They don’t build them like this anymore.

Why do I long for the older style of architecture over the impersonal boxes of modern design? Perhaps it is a bit of romanticism. I will acknowledge that many of these old buildings are in dire need of modernizing on the inside. However to these eyes, the style and artistry exhibited by these grand old dames has a timeless quality that I find very hard to find fault with. What do you think?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

I love feedback and interaction, any thoughts?

